Monday, October 31, 2011

Nobel Prize Winners List 2011 : All Categories

The greatest honor for achievements in specific fields -Nobel Prize bestowed by Scandinavian committees in recognition of the cultural and scientific advances Were Announced Earlier this Month. 

Every year since 1901 the Nobel Prize has been awarded for achievements in Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature and for Peace. In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, founder of the Nobel Prize. 

The winners are announced During Starting Week of This month. We Bring You the List Of This Year's Prestigious Noble Prize Winners which are Treated as At most Recognition Received by Any Person In The World. 



The Nobel Prize for Medicine/Physiology is being awarded jointly to Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann ”for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity” and to Ralph M. Steinman ”for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity“. While Beutler and Hoffman received half the prize, while Steinmen received the other half.


The 2011 Physics Nobel Prize Was Awarded to Three Us Born Scientists Saul Perlmutter (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, UC Berkeley), Prof. Brian Schmidt (High Z Supernova search team) and Prof. Adam Reiss (High Z Supernova search team). While Permutter got half the Prize, the other half went jointly to Schmidt and Reiss for the discovery of the accelerating expansion of the Universe through observations of distant supernovae. In 1998  Saul Perlmutter, Brian Schmidt and Adam Riess presented findings that overturned the conventional idea that the expansion was slowing 13.7 billion years after the big bang.


The Nobel Prize for Chemistry is being awarded to Daniel Schechtman,70 from Israel for the discovery of quasi crystals,  non-repeating regular patterns of atoms that were once thought to be impossible, which was his Nobel citation. He is the sole winner for this year’s prize.


The Nobel Prize for Literature goes to the Swedish poet Tomas Transtromer. He was awarded the Prize because because, through his condensed, translucent images, he gives us fresh access to reality.His Works are about the mysteries of the human mind won him acclaim as one of the most important Scandinavian writers since World War II.


The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkul Karman for “their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”.  Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee from Liberia and Tawakkul Karman from Yemen. 
Ellen Johnson Sirleaf is president of Liberia and is the first elected female head of state in Africa, Leymah Gbowee is a peace activist and Tawakul Karman is a Yemeni journalist and human rights activist who "showed courage long before the revolution started".


The Noble Prize For Economics is Awarded to Two American Economists Thomas Sargent and Christopher Sims  for providing ways to understand the impact of policy changes on the economy. The prize is based on old research that is of great interest in the current global financial crisis.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment